Cancer – Day Four

March 18, 2011
Not much sleep last night. Too much pain and not enough meds.
I worked for few hours this morning. It felt good to do something normal, like working.

This afternoon was my oncology consultation appointment. I really liked the doctor; he seemed very genuine and down to earth. Chemotherapy is recommended when radiation treatment is used on a cancerous tumor like mine. Chemo helps make the tumor susceptible to the radiation and without it, the radiation isn’t guaranteed to shrink the tumor. The radiation treatment, if I have it, will be seven weeks, with treatments everyday Monday through Friday. The chemo is given three times during the seven weeks, at the beginning, middle and just before the end of the treatment. With the radiation I will lose my facial hair (they say to shave it off now), and with the chemo I will lose some of the hair on my head. Hopefully not too much since I don’t have a lot to start with.  I may also lose some hearing in my right ear, which is also what they told me the radiation would do.

I won’t be writing daily I don’t think; only when there’s something significant to say or I feel the need to write. As long as I am able, I will continue reading the Word daily. My verse for today:

Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as
the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be
afraid. John 14:27

Leave a Reply

