Cancer – Day Ten

March 24, 2011

Today has been a great day. I went to the office this morning and had some nice conversations with my coworkers there. They are the best people I have ever worked with and I consider all of them my friends. They are so eager to help me through this ordeal; from offering to take me to my radiation and chemo treatments, to bringing my family cooked meals. You couldn’t ask for a better group of people to work with. They are very special to me.

Emails, texts and conversations with friends keep my mind from focusing on things that I shouldn’t. I had a nice little theological conversation with Linda today, which got me thinking about how other people view Christianity versus other religions.  But I won’t go into all of that right now.  I’m really looking forward to my meeting with Dr. Chin tomorrow. This has seemed to be the longest week ever. Waiting and waiting. I just want to get whatever treatment going and get this cancer out of my body.

A good friend gave me insight into how stubborn I can be sometimes by telling me a story of another stubborn man that I know.  That man worked himself into a heart attack, but his stubbornness also meant he wouldn’t let his heart stop working. He realized he couldn’t do it alone and turned to his family, who loved him dearly, for help. The moral of this story was to teach me to turn to my family and friends for help when I need it. And that time seems to be coming down the road for me soon.

Through all of this I have been amazed of how people have responded to help me and my family, and truly humbled by it. Thank you all for your loving support.

My flowers bloomed.

Today’s verse:

Let the morning bring me word of your unfailing love, for I have put my trust in you. Show me the way I should go, for to you I lift up my soul. Psalm 143: 8

6 Responses to Cancer – Day Ten

  1. Brandon says:

    @TeamCharles :)

  2. Awesome thought Brandon! ;)

  3. Leslie says:

    Thank you for sharing Charles. Out thoughts and prayers are with you. Blessings, the Morris Family

  4. Kimberly says:

    Charles,
    It is so humbling to read your story and just want to pray it all away for you and your family…you are obliviously so well loved and I am so happy to see the support you are seeing!! We love you guys so much and think of you daily.

    • Thanks for your prayers Kim. We love you guys too!
      And you need to come over and play cards before my treatment starts!
      I’m not sure if I’ll be able to play well after that – ha ha ;)

Leave a Reply

