Cancer – Day Fourteen

March 28, 2011

This past Saturday night our good friends Kim and Jason came over to play cards. We play a game called Euchre, which is a four player game of trump cards and taking “tricks”. Jay and I play as a team against the ladies; it’s the old guys against gals game.

Anyway, the gals always put up a good fight, but usually aren’t a match for us guys (no, I’m not gloating here!!), just saying – ha ha, now I’m in trouble! :).  For me, it was an interesting night because we played three games (you play until the first team reaches a score of 32), and in each of the three games I was dealt a hand that was so good, it made us score well past 32 to win each of the three games. Of course the gals were not too happy about this, but it just makes them want to come back and play more to try to beat us, which is exactly what I want because I really enjoy playing with them.

Why am I even talking about this? Well, that night as I was sleeping, God explained the message that he was trying to have me hear. He said, “You have been dealt a winning hand over and over in life.” From my wife (especially my wife) and kids, job, health, siblings and parents, to my friends and acquaintances, all have made my life a win, win, win. There is nothing I would trade or do differently in my life if it
meant that it would change where I am at right now.

Wow, all that from a little card game? Yes. It is how you look at even the little things in your life that can give you insight into yourself as a person. And as I said in a previous post, listen to what God is trying to have you hear. Taking that time to listen will impact your life immensely.

And now that you are listening, go and do what He says.

Yikes! Only two more days until the surgery. I’m a bit nervous and am not sleeping well because of that. It’s hard when I fall back into that trap of relying on myself rather than God.

Today’s verse:
Listen to my instruction and be wise; do not disregard it. Proverbs 8:23

2 Responses to Cancer – Day Fourteen

  1. Heidi says:

    Praying for you and what God has laid before you. My husband, Paul, is also a cancer survivor. Different type, but still a survivor. God is ALWAYS in control. Learning to listen, rest in His hands, and obey Him while in the storms of life is crucial. He IS the ultimate healer, comforter, provider. Praying our Lord covers you with the peace that passes ALL understanding – for you, Lynnanne, and your kids. Stand firm in your faith, with NO doubt, & lean NOT on your own understanding. HIS ways are not our ways. God bless!

    • Hi Heidi,
      Yes, I spoke with Paul Saturday night. I had no idea he was a cancer survivor and we talked briefly about his experience and about one verse that got him through much of it. I dedicated yesterday’s verse to Paul. The two of you are amazing people. Despite everything that you have been through, both past and present, you stand firm in Christ. Thank you for being so supportive of me and my family, and to many others in the church, and for serving the Lord on the prayer team.
      God Bless you and your family.
      Charles

Leave a Reply

