Cancer – Day Fifteen

March 29, 2011

Today was a good day. Although the pain kept coming and going throughout the day, I’ve learned to deal with it as it is no where near as bad as it has been. My mom and brother came to visit today and take me out to lunch. Since my pain has not been very bad and knowing that I will soon not be able to eat much, I’ve been trying to eat tasty things. I even had pizza last night, but it really hurt to eat it. We went to BJ’s restaurant, I had soup and salad and we had some great conversation. I don’t see either of them very much so I really enjoyed their visit.

Soon after that it was time to celebrate Sam’s birthday. It’s not her birthday today but we are celebrating it because her birthday is on Thursday, the day of my surgery. I felt bad that my surgery was scheduled on her birthday, but it worked out well because there is a concert on her birthday that she wanted to go to and probably wouldn’t have been home anyway. The picture is of Sam and her boyfriend Andrew. We went to Panera Bread, where I had, you guessed it, soup (and mac n cheese). Afterward, home for opening presents and having not cake, but brownies (Sam’s fav).

I am so blessed to have such a wonderful family. I love spending time with them, even if it is just to watch them goof around on the computer making “future” baby pictures by morphing themselves with their boyfriends or girlfriends (like they are doing right now). So, now it is time to spend a little time with Lynnanne and watch one of our taped shows. I enjoy that time and it keeps my mind occupied.

T-minus one day.

Today’s verse:

Rejoice always, pray continually, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus. 1¬†Thessalonians¬†5:16-18

8 Responses to Cancer – Day Fifteen

  1. Bruce says:

    Today, I am praying for our 40 Days For Life troup here in Milwaukee, as they continually save lives by offering free options to women who try to enter our local abortion clinic. Seems like we have saves every day. I am also praying for your family. Your surgery is hard on them, even though they are showing strong resolve and faith.
    Tomorrow, you will be in my prayers, my “friend in Christ,” because I know that Jesus will be holding you in the palm of His hands. I am also praying that a host of angels surround you and protect you AND that they will guide the surgeons to extract all of the bad stuff, making all of your pain go away.

    • Bruce,
      God has blessed us with you. You are truly a man of Christ and touch the lives of so many people around you. I am blessed to also call you my “friend in Christ” and so thankful for you. Your prayers are always so comforting to me. My family thanks you too as they know this time will be hard on them. I pray that God continues to bless you and your efforts there in Milwaukee as you save the lives of so many.
      Thank you my friend.

  2. Jonathan says:

    God is Blessing you, the lives and souls touched through this season of your life….WoW….I too am gaining strength from it.

    • Jonathan, we must stick together through the trials in our lives. When we do, Jesus shows up BIG TIME!
      I know you are going through some things of your own. If I can help in any way just let me know.
      God bless you and your family!

  3. Patti Hollis says:

    Hey Charles,
    Thank you so much for allowing us to walk with you on this journey! I too am holding you in prayer. May God’s boundless love overwhelm you and your family in the days and weeks ahead! Love you cuz!
    p.s. gotcha last!! :)

    • Thanks Cuz!
      I am so glad you are with me on this journey!
      The prayers that I have received from you and everyone have really helped me through some of the bad times and will help me get through the worst that is yet to come.
      And you know it’s not fair to POKE a man when he’s down! So…
      GOTCHA LAST! :)
      Love you!

  4. Patti Hollis says:

    Yeah, i know it wasn’t fair, but my goal was to make you laugh, and hopefully it worked!! :-)

Leave a Reply

