Cancer – Day Sixteen

March 30, 2011

Sorry for the long post. I ended up having a lot of pain today later in the day. Strange how it can come on so strong after being dormant for a while. A beautiful sunny day was calling me to go for a drive with the top down, but I resisted the urge and kept on working.

Then Marvin called and needed some help getting his pain medication. For those of you who don’t know Marvin, he is a great guy, an even greater friend, a brother in Christ and formerly homeless. Unfortunately, Marvin’s cancer is terminal and he is not doing well.  When he called, he said he was out pan-handling to try to get money to pay for his medication and asked if I could help. Marvin has a special place in my heart so of course I’m going to help him. That would give me an excuse to get out and enjoy at least a short ride with the top down too, so I picked him up and we got that medicine that he so desperately needed.

I’m not saying this to boast, I would never do that. I am saying this so that those of you who do know and care about Marvin could pray for him, because he is not doing well right now. He has started to cough up blood and cannot get his chemotherapy because of internal bleeding. His medications are very expensive so he could also use any financial assistance that you might be able to offer.

Our help is in the name of the Lord, the Maker of heaven and earth. Psalm 124:8

Driving back I heard a song by Laura Story that made me think of how God might subtly enter our lives to bless us. The song was called “Blessings” and the chorus went like this:

What if Your blessings come through rain drops,

What if Your healing comes through tears,

What it the thousand sleepless nights are what it takes to know You’re near,

And what if trials of this life are Your mercies in disguise?

That hits home in many ways. On a beautiful day like today, if makes you think of the majesty of God’s creation and how he blesses us with everything, big and small.

Brandon sent this to me from Monterey

I spent most of the day working to build a piece of our software that will be needed in many areas. I have also had to give up control of doing some of my normal duties. Giving up control has been difficult for me, but knowing there are great people to back me up makes it easier.

Thank everyone at the office for stepping up in my absence on the 2552-10 project. The road will be tough; there are deadlines to meet with tons and tons of work still to be done. But when has that been different really? HFS hasn’t gotten where it is today by people kicking back and doing minimal work. No, HFS has become the leading Medicare Cost Report software vendor in the county because of its hard working, dedicated employees, who produce and support a product of unmatched quality. That says a lot about you guys and you should be proud of your accomplishments. There is light at the end of the tunnel so keep working hard and we will celebrate together when we reach our goal of releasing this new product.

Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord – Colossians 3:23

Lastly, my prayer for myself:

Lord, I thank you for giving me the opportunity to experience your grace through this trial in my life. Give me peace and comfort as I enter into this first phase of my treatment. Your love comforts me and gives me strength to endure the things that I thought I could not. Be with my family and loved ones praying for me, and give them peace and comfort in their own lives, as they go through whatever trials you have prepared for them. Amen.

Today’s verse (thank you Leah):

When I am afraid, I put my trust in you. – Psalms 56:3

2 Responses to Cancer – Day Sixteen

  1. Diane says:

    Charles,

    My thoughts will be with you tomorrow as I know many, many others will be as well. You have a lot of love on your side.

    Love, Diane

  2. Steve B says:

    Charles
    It is 9:45 AM Thursday March 31st. Thinking you will be in surgery as I type.

    Just said a prayer for you matey!

    Will be a good result, I am sure.

    Luv n Hugs!

    Steve and rest of Booth clan!

Leave a Reply

