Cancer – Day Seventeen

March 31, 2011
It’s around 7 pm and I’m awake now. Two more hours before I can take more pain meds. My head is going to explode. So from what I’ve been told, Dr. Chin was able to get the entire tumor without taking as much of the soft palate as he had originally thought. Praise God!

I cannot talk right now of course and I’m drifting in and out of sleep, but I wanted to try to write something for today. The procedure still required taking much of my soft palate. I cannot drink anything without feeling like I’m going to drown, and without the liquid going up into my nose. The soft palate is there to prevent that but it is not there anymore. This is very depressing because it is why I did not want the surgery. God knows best though; He knew the tumor would be able to be removed. Thank you God.

While at the hospital, I talked to the nurse about God, and how it is so important to not only have faith, but to keep it in your time of trials. He told me that he was a believer in Christ and also an cancer survivor of two years. God reviled his cancer to him in church and because of that he went to the doctor to get checked. Sure enough, he had cancer.

This is just another example of what I’ve been talking about with listening to God. Had he not taken the time to listen, he might not have been around to tell me that story. Praise God! God sent this man to me so I would know his story. His name is James. How perfect is that.

Pray that I will get through this pain.

Today’s verse:
Every good and perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of the heavenly lights, who does not change like shifting shadows. – James 1:17

One Response to Cancer – Day Seventeen

  1. Jackie says:

    Charles – we were so pleased to hear that the surgery was a success. Thanks be to God!! As you know, everyone here is praying for you and willing to help in anyway you or Lynnanne needs. All you have to do is ask.
    May God’s peace grant you the relieve of pain that you desire. Amen.

Leave a Reply

