Cancer – Day Twenty-One

April 4, 2011

I’m trying to write a little while I can still remember some things about the day and stay awake while doing it. Some little, but nice things happened to me today: I received and email from my mother that showed a little boy, who looked to be about three maybe, orchestrating a symphony with great enthusiasm. Of course he really wasn’t in front of a symphony, but he thought he was. You should watch this if you have some time. I also received an email from my friend Bruce, who lives in Wisconsin (and by the way I have never met him), talking about the five ways we should treat people. I forwarded that email to some of you because it was very encouraging to me and I thought it might also be to you. If you would like a copy of it let me know and I will send it to you.

The other day I received flowers from my brother Alan and his lovely wife Janice. I forgot to mention this and to thank you for them; they were very nice.

I was trying to smile!

I am learning to deal with the way I have to swallow. Having everything go up your nose isn’t always a bad thing. I guess it just depends on what it is. If it is something that burns or smells, then yes, it is not good; but otherwise I’m getting used to it. Sometimes I forget that it will happen and take a drink of something without having a sink around. Not good when you are in the middle of the kitchen and your nose starts shooting liquid. Someone tell a joke, quick!

The church that I go to is Impact Community Church of Elk Grove and I am glad that they post the sermons online because I didn’t get to attend last weekend. They post them on Wednesdays so I am anxiously waiting to hear what God has to say through our Pastors (Barry, Scott, Shawn, James, or whoever might have given the sermon last week). Tuesday night is my Bible study night and I’m hoping to have made some good progress to maybe go for a little while.  It is important to connect with other members of your church through small groups or other activities to further your faith and develop the friendships God intended you to have through fellowship with others.

There are times of the day when my head clears up enough to remember things or to do things like work (meaningful work rather than just fiddling around). I was able to work some this morning and this evening and actually got things done that will make other’s work easier once they get what I’ve programmed. Who knows, they’ll probably look at it and say to themselves, “what what he thinking!”, but they’ll be nice and not tell me. J

For today’s verse I will steal it from Barry’s sermon two weeks ago. Currently, Barry is preaching about debt and money, and how it influences your spiritual life (you might me thinking that of course all churches preach about money, right? Give your money! Blah blah blah!). Well, let me tell you, that is NOT what this was about. TITHE, yes, end of story. But get out of DEBT. There is a biblical plan for you to get out of debt and it doesn’t involve you giving any more money to the church. I am proof of that. I did it and I am debt free (with the exception of my house, which I consider normal debt). I have no credit card payments, car payments, or whatever payments. Only my house and what it takes to maintain my house in regular bills. That’s it. So check out his sermon and try it for yourself. Scared? How about FREEDOM!

Today’s verse:

Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. – Philippians 4:6-7

2 Responses to Cancer – Day Twenty-One

  1. Janice Gates says:

    Charles You are truly a remarkable person!!! I LOVE YOU & am glad you are part of my life and Family. thank you for so freely sharing your experience. You are touching sooo many people.

    • Love you Janice!
      Teach Alan how to comment on the blog, I think he might not know how. :)
      Have a wonderful day!
      P.S. I’m just finished my SECOND instant breakfast already!

Leave a Reply

