Cancer – Day Sixty-Nine

May 22, 2011

Sorry I have not posted lately to let you know how I am doing. I have not been doing so well lately and not really been in the mood to write.  Here’s what’s been happening over the past two weeks.

During the first week of my chemotherapy, my body did not handle it well and I could not keep any food or fluids down.  The vomiting was very intense the first two days but subsided the rest of the week. Although I vomited daily, later in the week it was only two or three times a day.  Because I could not keep much in my body, my kidneys started to shut down.

Then on Tuesday, May 17, I received a call from the doctor saying that the blood tests indicated my kidneys were in trouble and I needed to get in right away for IV fluids.  I had to go in for fluids everyday that week because my kidneys were only recovering a little each day.  Thank you to Becky and Chuck for taking me to Kaiser each of these days and sitting with me through the entire hydration process. I can’t tell you how much I appreciated your help.

By Thursday I was feeling pretty darn good, compared to how I started the week. It’s amazing what fluids will do to your body. However, Friday I woke up feeling different. Still better than I felt at the beginning of the week, but just not as good as the day before. I couldn’t figure out what was different about the way I was feeling until the evening came. By then I could tell that the changes I was feeling were changes to my mouth and throat.

The effects of the radiation are finally taking their toll on me. I am now experiencing the beginnings of the pain the radiation is going to cause. It feels like my throat is being sliced open from the inside. This has also dramatically impacted my ability to taste and to produce saliva.  As I’ve said in previous posts, things don’t taste good. At least before they were tolerable; now the changes are so dramatic that the taste in my mouth is sour and acidy even without trying to drink anything.  Anything with sugar in it attacks my tongue and leaves some sort of white glue-like substance.  I have to rinse my mouth with salt water/baking soda solution to get rid of this white stuff.  I can’t even taste the salt in the water.

The biggest problem I have right now is the pain and taste in my mouth. This is making it impossible to eat anything and most everything I try to drink makes me want to vomit.  Try to think of having to put the most horrible tasting thing in your mouth and leave it there, forever. That is how it is for me right now.  Trying to get the calories I need each day is very difficult because of this condition. I am nearing the time when I will be dependent the feeding tube. I’m not looking forward to that.

This weekend the entire staff at my office participated in the 2011 Relay for Life in Elk Grove. They did this as a way to show their support for me during my struggle with cancer. I have worked with these people for many years and they are like family to me.  I want all of you to know that it really touches my heart to know that you would all take time out of your busy schedules to show your support for me and to raise money for a great cause. Thank you.

I don’t really have a verse for today, but hope is what comes to mind. If you have a favorite verse about hope, I would love you to send it to me or post it as a comment.

5 Responses to Cancer – Day Sixty-Nine

  1. Kathie Himmah says:

    Dear Charles,
    There are many Bible verses that are dear to me. Here are a few for you today:
    Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make your paths straight. (Proverbs 3:5,6)

    For we do not have a high priest who is unable to sympathize with our weaknesses, but one who in every respect has been tempted as we are, yet without sin. Let us then with confidence draw near to the throne of grace, that we may receive mercy and find grace to help us in our time of need. (Hebrews 4:15 and 16)

    One more:
    The Lord is my strength and my shield; my heart trusts in, relies on, and confidently leans on Him, and I am helped: there my heart greatly rejoices, and with my song I will praise Him. (Psalm 28:7)

    I pray that God’s arms are wrapped around you today and everyday during this time Charles. We can’t imagine what you are going thru but your testimony helps us to see some of your trial right now. Keep looking up brother.
    Love, Kathie

  2. Jim Morris says:

    Charles— Your strength is a tremendous inspiration to our family. We pray for you often and marvel at how strong you are during this battle. One of the verses that comes to mind about hope is from Isaiah – 40:31:

    But those who hope in the LORD
    will renew their strength.
    They will soar on wings like eagles;
    they will run and not grow weary,
    they will walk and not be faint.

    Have faith my friend. Stay strong!

    Jim

  3. Leslie Morris says:

    Our thoughts and prayers are with you.

    Jeremiah 29:11-12

    For I know the plans that I have for you,’ declares the LORD, ‘plans for welfare and not for calamity to give you a future and a hope. ‘Then you will call upon Me and come and pray to Me, and I will listen to you.

  4. batman says:

    The Relay for life this past week-end was an incredible event, it showed a great support for a great cause and for amazing people like you.
    Don’t forget the second HFS team, supporters from the office got so numerous we split people in 2 smaller teams:
    Team 1

    Team 2

  5. Steve says:

    Charles
    Mate, it was our pleasure. Next year you will be doing the survivor lap with us.
    Also, next year I will remember to sign up earlier so I do not get the 2-3.00AM, 4-5.00AM, and 6-7.00AM walking slots, lol.

    Seriously, was awesome to see so many folks out there supporting such a great cause.

    Thoughts and prays are with you as always.

    Steve B.

Leave a Reply

