Cancer – Day One Hundred-Twelve

July 4, 2011
Happy 4th of July everyone! I hope you have a great day and a great long weekend.

I was admitted to the hospital on Saturday because of complications with my intestines and a dropping hemoglobin count. Turns out that I needed a blood transfusion and that I have (possibly) diverticulosis.

They are keeping me until tomorrow and only letting me have IV fluids. This means that I will have had nothing to “eat” since Saturday. I can’t see how that could be good for me but they say they want to give my stomach a rest from everything that I’ve been eating so the intestines can heal (at least that is my understanding). They don’t want me to develop an abscess in my intestine.

It has been one thing after another in fighting this. Just when I think I’m through with one thing, something else comes up. But I’m still in the battle. I don’t claim to know God’s plan for me, but I do know He didn’t make me a quitter. I will deal with whatever comes next.

Keep praying for me. Your prayers give me strength.

Today’s verse:
With God we will gain the victory, and he will trample down our enemies. (Psalm 108:13 NIV)

8 Responses to Cancer – Day One Hundred-Twelve

  1. Jonathan says:

    CHARLES, I AM PRAYING FOR YOU and YOUR FAMILY THROUGH THIS TOUGH SEASON. YOUR TODAY’S VERSE SAYS IT ALL! HANG TOUGH, LOVE YOU BROTHER

  2. Elaine says:

    Happy Fourth of July to you too, Charles! It’s good to hear “fightin” words from you this a.m.! Hang in there. We love you guys!

  3. Diane says:

    Hey Charles,

    I was really surprised to see you on the blog. Just so you know, starving you is routine treatment when you are on Cipro and Flagyl. I think it is because they want the drugs to have and absolutely clear shot at the infection that’s already there and because it is food related, they don’t want to feed it. It makes sense when you think about it eventhough you will probably be sure you could eat the paint off the walls if they’d just let you at it. I am so glad your fighting back. Bravo!

    Love, Diane

  4. Barry says:

    Your plight and stamina were mentioned in each service this past weekend. Impact loves you and is praying.

  5. break7bg says:

    God bless you, Charles! I have kept praying for you and God answers all of them. Perhaps, you remember me because I had all of those iTunes errors and you helped walk me through solutions even though you were being attacked by that nasty disease. Yes, I am a Catholic, and very proud to be one. Through my faith, I have all the tools needed to gain heaven’s reward AND to bring some folks along. Blessings my friend!

    My son, Bryan, accepted a job as Lead Creative in the Palo Alto store and loves it. He is one smart cookie. Maybe, you’ll get to meet him.

    • Bruce?
      How are you? Thank you for your prayers!
      I am still recovering from everything I went through and doing much better now.
      I’ve lost my ability to taste much of anything and my saliva glands have been destroyed, all from the radiation. This makes it very difficult to eat but I’m learning to deal with it; finding different types of food that I can eat that do not require too much saliva to process.

      Hope all is well with you. If I remember right, you had your hip replaced. Hope that’s all healing well.
      Thanks for all of your prayers, I’m sure heaven’s reward awaits you! :)

      Not sure if I’ll get down to Palo Alto any time soon but would love to meet Bryan.
      Take care and thanks for writing!
      –Charles

      • break7bg says:

        Yes, I did have a hip replaced last January (2011) and all went extremely well. But, then later in the year my doc said I should go ahead and get the other one replace, too. It was bone on bone and causing much pain. So, in December, I had the other one done. So, my wife says I am much more hip than before. All seems well, but it is time to get my muscles really toned so I can golf better than before.

        I pray that you continue to be cancer-free.

        • Great to hear you are doing well, and that you are so hip :) Thanks again for your prayers. The farther out I get with no signs of cancer, the more likely it won’t come back. But it’s all God’s plan so we shall see.
          Take care and God bless!

Leave a Reply

