Cancer – Day One Hundred – Twenty

July 12, 2011
(I wrote this throughout the day…)
What I want most right now is to be able to eat by mouth so I can get rid of this feeding tube. Yesterday I tried to eat some cereal but it was still too painful to swallow. I managed to swallow some but think I may have overdone it because my throat has been hurting more since I tried. I know that pushing this recovery faster than it’s going to happen on it’s own isn’t smart, but just how long is this going to take? I’m going crazy with having this feeding tube!

While in the hospital is was given antibiotics and was to continue those same antibiotics for a week at home. One of the rare side effects of the drugs is tendinitis. Turns out I’m getting tendinitis in my left wrist and arm. So bad the tendon is bulging out in three places on my arm. Lynnanne called the doctor and he wants me to stop the antibiotics until he sees me. Luckily I have an appointment with him today. What concerns me even more than the tendinitis is that I might not be able to finish to course of antibiotics to kill then infection that caused me to go to the hospital in the first place. I don’t want that infection to come back and set me back in my recovery again.

Monday I had blood work done and as far as I can tell, my WBC has come up a little since being released from the hospital. Not much of an increase, but any increase is good news to me. I’ll post the actual WBC when I get the official word from the doctor. (1400)

Back from the oncologist now. My WBC has come up little but is not increasing at the rate he would like to see. His suspicion is that the effects of the radiation are suppressing my bone marrow, which is causing my WBC to remain low. The good news is that the monos are increasing, which would indicate that the bone marrow is starting to recover. My WBC won’t improve significantly until the bone marrow recovers. Next Tuesday I have another follow up appointment so I’ll have to wait until then before I know more.

This could be why my mouth healing is not progressing as anticipated. The radiation effects are lingering longer than expected. As long as I have not developed some other bone marrow problem, things will improve.

Update: I saw another doctor regarding the tendinitis and she does not think it is tendinitis. Now I’m a bit nervous because she said it could be an infection in my arm. Man, what next for me? She’s doing some research and then will talk with my ontologist. I’m waiting.

Update: Saw a dermatologist and the diagnosis is that I have an infection in my arm. I picked up some lemons that had fallen into my backyard and apparently they had some sort of bacteria on them that got into my body. Can you believe that!? Because of my low WBC I have to be super careful about touching anything outside. This includes watering the plants, which I like to do in the morning. No more picking up lemons either. Now I have to take a different antibiotic for this infection. This one is hard on the liver so that has me a bit worried since my body is very vulnerable right now.

Please pray that this current problem will be resolved quickly and without complications. Pray that God will supernaturally heal me and put me on the road to complete recovery. Pray also that I will feel God’s presence through this and that He will comfort met and give me peace in my heart and mind.

Thank you so much for your prayers. I could use some more daily encouragement if you have the time. Please message me on Facebook or twitter (@cgatesmobile). I would love to hear from you. If you are not my Facebook friend send me a friend request. :)

I am thinking also that I want to stop numbering my cancer blog posts with the day number because it is depressing seeing how long it’s been. Any suggestions or should I just title them with how I’m feeling (or something like that)?

Today’s verse: (His healing is possible)
Jesus went throughout Galilee, teaching in their synagogues, proclaiming the good news of the kingdom, and healing every disease and sickness among the people. (Matthew 4:23 NIV)

4 Responses to Cancer – Day One Hundred – Twenty

  1. Diane says:

    Hi Charles,

    Unbelievable, a lemon infection. What next, is right. It sounds like a bubble might be the answer. It does sound like you have the doctor’s attention better than you’ve had in the past. That’s a good thing, right? I would have thought that the infection in your arm might have come from too many sticks or crappy sticks but a lemon is just bizzare. At any rate, I hope this new antibiotic makes quick work of the arm infection and that your throat heals enough for some type of eating, even if it only smoothies to start with.

    Love, Diane

  2. Crazy stuff, I know. Who would have thought that I could have caught something like that. The body is amazing the way it can defend against the elements when it is healthy. When it’s not healthy, look out for those lemons! ha ha

    Love you!
    Charles

  3. Karen La Mar says:

    How about a simple title like with the verse you put at the bottom, or maybe using a comment you will write about, like for today’s you could have said “Thoughts from my day” or even “What would you do if you couldn’t eat?” Does that make sense?

    Continuing to pray for you and your family

  4. Steve says:

    Charles

    When you can eat orally, I will be taking you out for a big slap up meal.

    I have a feeling it will be sooner than you think.

    Thinking of you mate!

    All the best and miss ya dude!

    Steve

Leave a Reply

