Recovery – Road Trip

July 26, 2011

On Sunday, Alan Hardwick (a very good friend and my Bible study leader) came by and took me for a drive so I could get out of the house. Since I’m not supposed to be driving right now (meds) and could not get out on my own, he thought it would be nice to drive for me.  We didn’t really have any destination in mind; both of us like to just hop in the car and drive, so we headed up highway 80 East toward Auburn.  We ended up going through Truckee, and then cutting across on highway 20 to Lake Tahoe, and then home on 50.

Charles and Alan - Road Trip

The scenery was great and so was the conversation.  We talked about all kinds of things; important things to trivial things, it didn’t really matter.  What mattered was that we were out doing something we both liked to do and were enjoying each other’s company.  I had a great time and want to give a big thank you to Alan for taking time out of his busy schedule to get me out of the house. (Picture: Alan took a picture of me, then I took one of him. I wanted a picture of us together so I photo-shopped Alan into the one of me.)

There hasn’t been much else going on with me.  I have been working on eating by mouth more and getting my calories above 2500 each day.  It is so hard to find high calorie things that I can eat. I can’t eat burgers or heavy pasta foods yet; everything that I do eat needs to have high moisture content. I still don’t have the saliva needed to break down the food in my mouth.  There are only so many Boosts I can handle in a day without wanting to barf.  The good news is that it is getting easier to eat every day and I can taste the flavor in some of the things I’m eating (not many).  For some reason I still have pain in my right ear when I eat so I’ll need to let the doctor know about that on my next visit.

There’s no more sign of the infection in my arm so the doctor told me to stop taking the antibiotic. I took it for twelve days and he was concerned about the side-effects I was having.  One possible side-effect is the tightness and pain I’m having in my arms and legs.  It feels like the muscles or tendons are going to tear if I move too much in one direction or the other.  Maybe this is just a sign of lack of normal use because I haven’t been using them so much lately.  I do walk everyday in the mornings though, so my legs should not be feeling this way.  Hopefully this will get better the further I get from having taken the antibiotic.

If all goes as planned, by August 1 I will be off of all pain meds. Yay!  This means I can start back to work. I’ll be working two to four hours each day at first to see how it goes.  I’m very weak and still have a tendency to fall asleep. The fall asleep problem hasn’t been as bad lately so I’m hoping that means my red blood count is improving.

That’s about it for now. Thanks for reading this and checking on my progress!

Today’s verse:

I can do all this through him who gives me strength. – Philippians 4:13 NIV

2 Responses to Recovery – Road Trip

  1. Janice Gates says:

    So glad you got out, what a great time of year for that drive! Can you teach how to do that with photo shop??? That picture is amazing, great job! So glad to read your progress the prayers are still coming your way. Love you MUCH!!!!!!!!

  2. Diane says:

    Wow Charles,

    This is wonderful. Cathy told me you had posted to the blog again and I just pulled it up. What a good friend you have. Thank heavens there are people like him in this world. Keep improving.

    Love, Diane

Leave a Reply

